FAQ: Do You Need to Reinstall Device Trust After Changing the Hostname?

Follow
    Applies to:
  • Arculix
Deployment model:
  • Cloud
  • Version Affected: Arculix

     

    Overview

    If the hostname of a Windows or Mac computer running Device Trust is changed, Device Trust automatically updates its hostname to reflect the change. It is not necessary to reinstall Device Trust after changing the hostname.

     

    Answer

    No — Device Trust picks up the new hostname on its own. You can confirm this by running the following commands on the affected Mac and then confirming that Device Trust continues to work as expected:

    sudo scutil --set HostName <new host name>
    sudo scutil --set LocalHostName <new host name>
    sudo scutil --set ComputerName <new host name>


     

    Reach out to support@secureauth.com if you have any questions.


     

    SecureAuth Knowledge Base Articles provide information based on specific use cases and may not apply to all appliances or configurations. Be advised that these instructions could cause harm to the environment if not followed correctly or if they do not apply to the current use case.

    Customers are responsible for their own due diligence prior to utilizing this information and agree that SecureAuth is not liable for any issues caused by misconfiguration directly or indirectly related to SecureAuth products.

    0 out of 0 found this helpful

    Comments

    0 comments

    Please sign in to leave a comment.