Knowledge Base

Support Policies

How to Disable Traffic to a Realm, Without Deleting It

SecureAuth IdP Version affected: All versions

Description: The following is an easy method to disable user-traffic from hitting an un-used SecureAuth realm page, without deleting the entire realm. This small change can be reverted at any time, to again allow all incoming user-traffic, if desired.
**Note: an IIS URL Rewrite rule could just as easily accomplish this same result as well.**

Open Internet Information Services Manager (IIS)
- From the left hand panel, in the manager window, expand the directory under your machine’s name.
- Expand Sites, Default Web Site, and click on the realm that you would like to deny user access too.
- Click the IP Address and Domain Restrictions icon.



- From the right hand panel, click Edit Features Settings…, select Deny from the Access for unspecified clients drop-down menu, select the desired Deny Action Type from the drop-down menu and click OK.

 

As long as this Deny IP restriction exists, it will deny realm access to everyone who attempts to hit the realm. If you would ever like to remove the restriction, simply redirect to the same IP Address and Domain Restrictions menu for the realm, Edit Feature Settings…, select Allow, and click OK.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.